Li Ch 7 Insight 2

He placed the book that he held onto the table and slid it across. It spun as it drew a straight line to me until it stopped just as it reached my hands. Startled, I looked down to the page it was on. Some of the writing appeared bolded. But at the top of the page was ‘The origin of the world – The Will’ . I look to him but he seemed to edge me to the open book.

The book held new indentations on the pages which appear to be markers inserted by Flow. bolded sentences stood out. Without further thought, I read those sentences.

“-One common element of all the cultures encountered is the principle that one’s perception of the world can directly affect  the environment. Upon examination of the many historical anecdotes and records encounter, It is difficult to say conclusively whether this element was present before the advent of alwright language but it appears the case.”.

It was clear that he was talking about this ability…

But to be looking for the origin of the world…

How grand…

We have had philosophers and religionists attempt this since the dawn of time. Now we have physics…

The only things that have changed are the tools used to understand the world.

From religion to philosophy to science… I wonder is this is just a common element of humans even across worlds…

I wonder is this is just a common element of humans even across worlds…

***

The surrounds all seem to await me to continue reading, it silence didn’t allow for anymore distracting thoughts.

However, it was clear that I need to read this information in its entirety as soon as possible.

“-It appears that the knowledge of one’s desires being able to generate external phenomena was ever present. But eventually, the importance of ‘intent’ was understood independently across many cultures. But strangely, location dependence and the determination that a concentration of some unknown substance was a variable in the persistence and intensity of the phenomena was not. It appears that this likely fact eluded many but a few more progressive bodies…”

I don’t get it

Why is he making me read this?

Annoyed at the lack of context, I scanned the page until a paragraph stuck out

“‘Desires’ originate in the mind and ‘intent’ ends within the world. To connect the two is one goal. And to do so is to use the concept of Will. The concept of Will is all but one in which this is achieved.  “

“…”

Desires,Intent, and Will?

So does this means that if one thought of an outcome results in such an outcome being realized?

He may have given me an answer but it sure is cryptic as it can get. But I still need him to answer the most pressing question.

I  slowly closed the book and placed it besides me.

“So… Why did you save me?”

Flow, who at some point had taken another volume, continued to flip the pages of the book without any change.

I looked towards him trying to hide my eagerness as best as I could under the circumstances.

“Do I need a reason to rescue someone in a perilous state?”

But he said only these words.

“…”

“…”

The only sound in the room were the periodic flips of pages. This must have been one of those huh…

“Alri-”

“I wasn’t lying when I said you are interesting, I just don’t see them all too often these days. But even then, when I saw you it was like…”

His tone remained even but I could hear it became increasing more enthusiastic and excited. And frankly, I felt a chill run down my spine.

“Sigh…I guess you can say its complicated”

“But, I felt you could help me with a problem I have been facing.”

Leave a Reply

